This morning, a New Jersey elementary school teacher was arrested on suspicion of sexually abusing a 10 year old girl, a 5th grade student. The teacher has been charged with sexual assault and endangering the welfare of a minor.
This recent case is far from isolated. In the last 6 months, at least three other teachers in New Jersey have been arrested for for sexually abusing students/minors.
Last month, a South New Jersey teacher was charged with over 90 counts of child sex abuse related charges. The charges include endangering the welfare of a minor and sexual assault. The teacher is accused of contacting boys as young as 12 years old beginning in 2006. Read a local Philadelphia CBS news report about this recent teacher sex abuse case.
Also last month, a 28 year old Plainfield High School teacher was arrested for having a sexual relationship with a student. The teacher was arrested in Florida and brought back to Union County.
Last fall, a 33 year old West Orange High School teacher was arrested for having a sexual relationship with a student.
New Jersey’s Sexual Assault statute (2C: 14-2 Sexual Assault)
Section a defines aggravated sexual assault and is usually charged in cases where the victim is under 13 years old and the abuser is a teacher or other person in a supervisory or disciplinary role.
Section b defines sexual assault as sexual contact with a victim under the age of 13, when the abuser is at least 4 years older.
Section c defines sexual assault:
c. An actor is guilty of sexual assault if he commits an act of sexual penetration with another person under any one of the following circumstances:
(1) The actor uses physical force or coercion, but the victim does not sustain severe personal injury;
(2) The victim is one whom the actor knew or should have known was physically helpless, mentally defective, or mentally incapacitated;
(3) The victim is on probation or parole, or is detained in a hospital, prison, or other institution and the actor has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim by virtue of the actor’s legal, professional or occupational status;
(4) The victim is at least 16 but less than 18 years old and:
a. The actor is related to the victim by blood or affinity to the third degree;or b. the actor has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim; or c. the actor is a foster parent, a guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household;
(5) The victim is at least 13 but less than 16 years old and the actor is as at least 4 years older than the victim.
Get a Free Consultation with Brian Kent, Former Prosecutor and School Sex Abuse Lawyer
For more information, contact Brian Kent, a former sex crimes unit prosecutor. Brian offers free consultations to victims of sex abuse in a school setting. Sex abuse in schools is often committed by teachers, administrators, coaches, teacher’s aides, and other staff. Children suffer long term consequences and may be entitled to compensation. In addition, changes to a school’s policy often result from being sued. Brian Kent works to obtain justice for victims of school sex abuse.
**This website does not provide legal advice. Every case is unique and it is crucial to get a qualified, expert legal opinion prior to making any decisions about your case. See the full disclaimer at the bottom of this page.